Exclusive and Trending Stories.

Election results 2018: Congress leads in three states, nail-biting contest in Madhya Pradesh

Counting of votes for 2018 assembly election results is underway. In the multi-phase polling, Chhattisgarh voted on November 12 (18 seats) and November 20 (72 seats); Madhya Pradesh (230 seats), Mizoram (40 seats) on November 28; Rajasthan (199 seats) and Telangana (119 seats) on December 7.

The outcome of the polls to these five states will be a test of the electoral strategy of Congress president Rahul Gandhi and the popularity of Prime Minister Narendra Modi. Today’s state results affect LS 2019 elections results.


Rajasthan Result Update

The Congress party is taking a clear lead in Rajasthan with the election trends showing the party ahead in more than 103 seats while the BJP trailing behind with a little over 72 seats.  State Congress chief Sachin Pilot wins by over 50,000 votes, Chief Minister Vasundhara Raje wins by 45,000 votes and Senior Congress leader Ashok Gehlot wins by over 30,000 votes. Sachin Pilot and Ashok Gehlot have both said that the Congress will form the government in Rajasthan.

Madhya Pradesh Result Update

The nail-biting contest is taking place between the BJP and Congress in Madhya Pradesh.

According to the EC trends, Congress is leading on 112 seats while BJP is leading on 108 seats. BSP is leading on 4 seats in the state. 116 seats are needed for the majority. Madhya Pradesh CM Shivraj Singh Chouhan leading by 3,7500 votes.

Chhattisgarh Result Update

In Chhattisgarh, the Rahul Gandhi-led party has been able to take a strong lead on 66 seats, while the BJP has been ahead on just 14 seats.


Telangana Result Update

The ruling TRS looked set to sweep the assembly polls in Telangana.  

TRS president and Telangana caretaker Chief Minister K Chandrasekhar Rao wins Gajwel assembly constituency by a margin of over 51,000 votes.  The Telangana Rashtra Samithi President K Chandrashekhar Rao’s track record of never losing an election since 1985 remained intact as he was re-elected from the Gajwel Assembly constituency with a huge margin. Celebrations have started in earnest across several offices of TRS in Hyderabad


Mizoram Result Update

The Mizo National Front or MNF has got a majority in Mizoram, the Election Commission informed. In Mizoram, regional party MNF is leading by 26, with the Congress being the distant second. A total of 201 candidates in 40 Assembly seats went to polls on November 28, the key players being the Congress, the Mizo National Front (MNF), the Zoram People’s Movement, and the BJP.

Stay tuned for latest updates….

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.